the epic saga of Brakes the beagle.

Ok, so I’ve been MIA for like a week, but with good reason. First, I had nothing to write about. Then, this dog ran away and it consumed a lot of my thoughts. (And no one reads this anyway, so what does it matter?)

It’s kind of a long story, so here goes…

My brother works at a place called Paw Play, a doggie daycare. Some of the people who work there run a little animal shelter operation called Pawtectors. They rescued a tiny little beagle from a lab where he spent the first three years of his tiny little life being injected with medicines. You know that whole animal testing thing? Yeah, I’m totally against that, even moreso than I used to be, now that little Brakes (more on that soon) is in my life.

Anyway, they named him Brakes because he has an ID tattooed on the underside of his ear and the last three letters are ABS. Cute, right? So, my brother, being lover of all animals, decides he wants this dog. He has the brilliant idea to show the dog to my mother, and she decides she wants it and takes it for a trial run, starting this past Monday.
She has him for 2 whole days and on the third day (he rose again…no, wait) she picks him up from Paw Play after she gets out of work, and he gets loose. Now, Brakes is the most skittish little creature I’ve ever seen. He’s afraid of everything, and doesn’t even know how to bark. She chased him around for a bit, but he just kept running away.

So I get there about an hour later, and look around for an hour. Finally I find him in this big clearing, but as soon as he realizes I’m coming toward him, he runs into the woods. I did things I thought would never do while trying to catch him, like taking off my shoes and running barefoot through a muddy clearing full of sticks and rocks, and going into the woods alone.

This story could be really dragged out, but I’ll try to cut to the chase. My brother got there soon after, and searched the woods, even sustaining multiple bee stings (which was sort of funny to witness, as he ran from the woods and shouted “it feels like lightning!” and just kept running, kind of like a scene from Jackass), until around 10 p.m. So we were left with no doggy, and lots of tears, and we decided to call it a night.

The next morning, Tommy had to be at work bright and early and share the bad news to his coworkers and bosses. Luckily, they were just concerned about finding the dog, and set out in the rain to search the woods where Brakes was last seen.

He wasn’t spotted, and although we thought the worst could’ve happened, we put signs up everywhere and the cops, warden, and pounds in our town and those surrounding were all aware of our little pup.

That night, my broski got a call that Brakes was spotted by the Pawtectors lady, and she was chasing him through a big graveyard in town near the woods where he was last seen. So, about 10 of his coworkers spent the night chasing him around. They saw him a few times, and the good news was he hadn’t gone far.

The same happened the next day, with the dog being spotted and even momentarily caught the next night. The guy who caught him let him go after Brakes snapped and startled him.
But, morale was still high, and Tommy was excited to get up early yesterday to find the pup. Whoever was out looking spotted him around 8, and T was there in 5 minutes’ time. By 10:30, they had him. He spent the day at the vet getting rehydrated (poor baby hadn’t had a thing to eat or drink in days, and all that running had to tire him out!).
We’re still not sure who’s gonna keep him (we have our fingers crossed that Daddy will cave!), but I don’t think I’ve gone through such an emotional rollercoaster in a very long time. And I knew I loved animals, but this whole incident showed me that I had no clue how much.

Leave a Reply

